Practice Area

Defending against weapon charges in Harris County

In Texas, weapons charges can arise from unlawful carrying, unlawful possession, unlawful transfer and smuggling. Being charged with a gun crime can be catastrophic both personally and professionally.

What weapon charges can you get in Texas?

Texas criminal law prohibits the possession of the following types of weapons (except in certain cases of antiques, curios, or other items licensed by the federal government):

Types Of Weapons

Explosive weapons such as grenades, bombs and rocket
Machine guns
Rifles with barrels less than 16 inches long
Shotguns with barrels less than 18 inches long
Any rifle or shotgun altered so that the entire weapon is less than 26 inches long
Brass knuckles
Improvised handguns, also known as “zip guns”

Other Weapons

Under Texas criminal laws the term weapon does not necessarily mean a gun. It is also illegal to possess or carry things such as clubs, certain knives, chemical sprays and various other items. Possessing brass knuckles can be a Class A misdemeanor while possessing any of the others can be a third-degree felony. Both are punishable by jail time and fines.

Felon in Possession

If you are a convicted felon or have been convicted of domestic assault, it is illegal for you to have any kind of firearm. If you give or sell a firearm to someone who is not allowed to have one or you leave a loaded firearm unsecured and a child gets it you can be charged as well.

Punishments for Weapon Charges

If you are arrested for one of these reasons, you are likely facing misdemeanor or felony charges with varying penalties depending on the severity of the crime you are accused of.

Misdemeanor charges may result in fines up to $4,000 and jail time up to one year.

Felony charges are punishable with 2-99 years in prison and fines up to $10,000 depending on the crime committed. If you are accused of using a weapon to commit another criminal offense, the penalties can increase dramatically.

What do I do next?

It is important to contact an experienced Harris County defense attorney to learn if any mitigating circumstances might apply in order to get your charges possibly reduced or dismissed. Contact Attorney Emily Shelton.  She has the experience, knowledge of the law, and power to defend your rights.

Contact Emily Shelton Now

Contact Info

2023 © Attorney Emily Shelton - All Rights Reserved